The Qur’an

The Qur’an is the holy book for Muslims, which was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad by God in Arabic. The Qur’an translated means the recitation. Muhammad relayed what he heard from God orally to his followers, and they wrote it down. Islam teaches that Muhammad dreamed of the angel Gabriel showing up in his dream and telling him to memorize certain messages. After awhile Muhammad decided to preach on what he was hearing in his dreams.

There are 114 chapters overall in the Qur’an which are all written in old Arabic dialect. It can be divided into 30 equal parts known as juz’. It is common to read one juz’ a day, especially during Ramadan. All the chapters except one begin with the sentence Bismillahir rahmanir raheem, ‘In the name of Allah the most merciful and the most kind’. When the Qur’an began there were no tools available to create copies, which meant people had to memorize the whole book in order for it to be preserved. If someone were to memorize it in entirety then they are called a hafiz.

Muslims treat the Qur’an with a large amount of respect since it is the holy word of God. Sura means chapter of the Qur’an, while Aya means one verse. The central message is that people had been straying from the truths of Allah. The Qur’an instructs Muslims on how to live life in a manner pleasing to Allah and teaches the nature of Allah, as well as the afterlife.