What is the difference between Deism and Agnosticism?

Deism and Agnostic are two terms we often don’t hear about, and it’s rare for people to realize they identify with one. Deism is the belief that a god created the universe but then left it to run as it pleases. They don’t believe that this god could in any way intervene in present day. Agnostics don’t deny nor agree that there is a god, since there is no justifiable reasoning to deny or accept the existence of one. Aldous Huxley, the author of Brave New World, coined the term Agnostic and explains how he created the word,

“When I reached intellectual maturity, and began to ask myself whether I was an atheist, a theist, or a pantheist; a materialist or an idealist; a Christian or a freethinker, I found that the more I learned and reflected, the less ready was the answer; until at last I came to the conclusion that I had neither art nor part with any of these denominations, except the last. The one thing in which most of these good people were agreed was the one thing in which I differed from them. They were quite sure that they had attained a certain “gnosis”–had more or less successfully solved the problem of existence; while I was quite sure I had not, and had a pretty strong conviction that the problem was insoluble. And, with Hume and Kant on my side, I could not think myself presumptuous in holding fast by that opinion …”

Agnostics end up in the middle ground while Deists have an exact position. Deism was derived from the latin word “deus” meaning god. The term began being used during the enlightenment era when more people were beginning to grow curious about the idea of a god.

One thought on “What is the difference between Deism and Agnosticism?

Comments are closed.