The Torah


Torah is a text used by followers of Judaism. It could also refer to the Oral Torah, or the written Torah. We are referring to Torah as the first five books of Moses, which are  Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. It is usually made out of parchment paper, and no one is able to touch the paper. They will use a “yad” as a pointer, and it is in the shape of a hand. The scriptures are hand-written and it takes someone who has prepared a lot beforehand to read from Torah.

It is said that Moses received Torah from God in written form through written commentary. The Torah was written in the year 1400 BC. Each book in Torah tells a story about a prominent time in history. Genesis discusses creation, Exodus talks about the giving of the law to Moses on Mount Sinai and covers the period during the Jewish slavery in Egypt until the Lord blesses them. Leviticus talks about sacrifices, festivals and offerings that were happening among the people at that time. Numbers gives a census about the people in Israel and about their 40 years in the wilderness on their journey towards the Promised Land. Deuteronomy is the last book of Torah in which Moses repeats the law for the new generation who would enter the Promised Land.